Saturday, February 9, 2008

Mumbai to host 10 IPL matches including final

The Indian Premier League administration had a meeting with representatives of the eight franchises about the requirements and the sponsorship shares and other details here on Friday. The franchisees had various presentations from the marketing and advertising team Ogilvy and Mather as well as from the Sony group who will look after the production of this tournament. The IPL season will kick off on April 18 at Bangalore with a match between Bangalore and Shahrukh Khan’s Kolkata. The semifinals will be held on May 30 and 31 and final on June 1 in Mumbai.

With each franchise team playing all other teams once on a home and away basis, the Mumbai franchise owners will be hosting seven ties in the preliminary stage of the tournament plus the three in the knock-out phase, making it ten in all.

“As of now we have not decided the exact location as to where will the matches be played in Mumbai but I guess it should be CCI or else we have D.Y. Patil ground (Nerul) where matches can be played,” said IPL chairman Lalit Modi. The other seven franchise owners — Bangalore (United Breweries), Hyderabad (Deccan Chronicle Group), Chennai (India Cements), Delhi (GMR Group), Kolkata (Red Chillies Entertainment of Shah Rukh Khan and Group), Chandigarh (Preity Zinta, Ness Wadia, R. Burman and Group) and Jaipur (Emerging Media Group) would host seven matches each in the 44-day, 59-match League.

Also the availability of tickets have been made easy. an they can be booked tickets on-line or via SMS. Ticket pro company will handle the distribution of tickets and the bar codes system is been introduced so that tickets are not forged.